Secretary Albinyana during the State of Europe session
Secretary Albinyana attends the State of Europe session 'Making Europe's Neighbourhood safe again'
On Thursday, Roger Albinyana participated in the “The State of Europe 2015”, an international event organised by the think tank 'Friends of Europe' in collaboration with the Luxembourg Presidency of the European Union and the European Commission at the Egmont Palace. The Foreign and EU Affairs Secretary took part in the panel discussion “Making Europe’s Neighbourhood safe again” on the future of the European Neighbourhood Policy (ENP) and other EU challenges. The event brought together representatives from EU member states and European institutions, as well as other political and economic representatives, opinion leaders and members from civil society organisations.
The ENP session was attended by, among others, the president of the Advisory Council on International Affairs of the Netherlands and NATO’S former Secretary-General, Jaap de Hoop Scheffer, and Stefano Manservisi, head of cabinet of the High Representative for Foreign Affairs, Federica Mogherini. During the meeting, Secretary Albinyana was able to exchange views on several issues with political representatives, such as the former Italian Prime Minister and former European Commissioner, Mario Monti.
As well as taking part in the session on ENP, the Secretary also attended the  inaugural session and the Presidents’ dinner which took place on the previous evening and was co-hosted by the Prime Minister of Luxemburg, Xavier Bettel, and Etienne Davignon, president of ‘Friends of Europe’ and former Vice President of the European Commission. 
In addition to the aforementioned participants, Thursday’s event was also attended by leading representatives from across the European Union, such as His Majesty King Philip of Belgium, the European Commission’s Vice President, Frans Timmermans, European Commissioner for Economic and Financial Affairs Pierre Moscovici, the former European Commissioner and former Director General of the WTO, Pascal Lamy, President Borut Pahor of Slovenia and the President of Estonia, Toomas Hendrik.